Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Film Capacitors: The Versatility and Stability

4.12.2023 @ 20:00 - 21:00 CET

Film Capacitors: The Versatility and Stability

TTI & Eaton Webinar

Date: December 4, 2023
Time: 2 PM EST (11 AM PST / 8:00 PM CET)
Duration: 1 hour

In this webinar, Eaton will discuss design and selection considerations for film capacitors. What makes capacitors truly versatile is their adaptability, and film capacitors exhibit remarkable stability even in substantial temperature variations, while being utilized in high-voltage and low-voltage power circuits. Learn why film capacitors are needed for your applications.

Overview

Capacitors, alongside inductors and resistors, form the fundamental building blocks of electrical and electronic systems. Capacitors and inductors play a pivotal role in energy storage, with capacitors storing energy in the form of an electric field while inductors in a magnetic field. What makes capacitors truly versatile is their adaptability, as they can be constructed from a variety of materials tailored to suit diverse environments and circuit requirements.

Today, our focus centers on film capacitors. As the name implies, these capacitors are crafted from thin plastic serving as the dielectric, upon which a metal film is deposited to create the essential capacitor plates. Film capacitors exhibit remarkable stability even in the face of substantial temperature variations, rendering them indispensable in various industries. They find prominent applications in solar panel inverters, wind turbines, automotive charging systems, HVAC, and many more. While film capacitors are commonly associated with high-voltage power circuits, they also find utility in low-voltage circuits for tasks such as decoupling, circuit tuning, and filtering.

Key Takeaways

  • Understand design and selection considerations for film capacitors, and why you need them.
  • Explore different types of capacitors and what is significant about film capacitors.
  • Examine different types of film capacitors.
  • Learn why film capacitors are used.
  • Discover diverse applications for film capacitors.

Speaker

Mohammad Mohiuddin, Field Applications Engineer, Electronics Division (ELXD), Eaton

Details

Date:
4.12.2023
Time:
20:00 - 21:00 CET
Website:
https://www.globalspec.com/events/eventdetails?eventId=4330

Venue

virtual

Organizer

TTI
View Organizer Website